Halloween by Gemma Juliana

Author Gemma Juliana poses an interesting question today. How do you like your Halloween? 

Halloween

by Gemma Juliana

How do you like your Halloween – mild or spicy? I’ve noticed two things about Halloween in recent years. It has grown in the past few years in popularity to rival other major holidays. Also, it has become more extreme – as in gruesome. The Halloween costume and decoration market is exploding with prosperity. This holiday is now as popular with adults – if not more so – as with children.

Taking a walk down memory lane, I have warm memories of mild Halloweens that would probably be considered boring nowadays.

Mild means running from door to door trick-or-treating, dressing up in costumes, throwing a party with spooky music, placing orange, purple and black lights at your door or in your windows, putting a blow-up ghost in your front garden, baking treats like spider-shaped cupcakes… and don’t forget the candy!

Trick or Treat?

Spicy means dressing up very risqué, or downright gruesome. You might be a corpse that just clawed its way back into the realm of the so-called living, or a zombie with a blood-splattered head and an axe hanging from it. Just looking at it makes you flinch… then you pay for a haunted house experience that will literally make you die of fright. This is not for the weak of heart, or those who hid behind their hands while watching Rosemary’s Baby (me)…

As more adults jump on the Halloween bandwagon, the dark element associated with this holiday has grown. In ancient times, All Hallows Eve was the end of the year and beginning of a new year. It was a sacred time of communion between the living and the dead.

More recently, Halloween was for children. They dressed up as ghosts with white sheets over their heads or in a nurse, princess, doctor, or police officer costume. The most gruesome costumes were witches or devils, and they weren’t gruesome at all.

Many people enjoy the scary dark side of Halloween, but speaking for myself, I miss the fun, innocent days when Halloween was exciting. It was about dressing up, collecting candy with friends and running from door to door saying, trick or treat!

GEMMA JULIANA is a multi-published author who lives in an enchanted cottage in north Texas with her handsome hero, teen son, and a comical dog. She loves making new friends and hearing from readers. Exotic coffee and chocolate fuel her creativity. Her latest novella, Autumn Masquerade, is about a career woman with psychic gifts and the ability to speak to ghosts. You can find her books at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, Kobo, and Apple.

Connect with Gemma

GemmaJuliana.com | Twitter | facebook

 

 Related Articles

 

7 thoughts on “Halloween by Gemma Juliana

  1. I think I’ll choose the “milder” version…with just a touch of spice. Although I enjoy Halloween as much as an adult as I did as a child, most of my fun now comes from making the holiday special for little ones. I want every child to have the same exciting (but safe) Halloween memories I had. That, of course, includes an occasional “scare” — but nothing too gruesome or frightening.

    • Hi Christina, We still hand out candy most Halloweens and it is always so rewarding to see the little children coming to our door, filled with excitement and enjoying innocent fun. Thanks for hosting me on your blog!

  2. I liked the old Halloween for kids, but that is slowly decreasing due to fear, violence and mayhem. I also liked the pagan winter festival I used to go to a long while back that has since vanished. Now there are zombie walks, city thrown parties and fright nights. People wear makeup and try their best to scare you. Ghost walks and real haunted places to visit abound with actual scares for some.
    Just give me my Winter’s Night festival again, that I enjoyed on Halloween.

  3. Pingback: Halloween is Coming! | Christina's Corner

  4. This was such a great post and brought back some whimsically magical memories. I enjoy Halloween as an adult, but the “dark” side is often far too dark for me. The best memories I have of the holiday go back to childhood when it was all about make-believe and spooky, innocent fun. I’m definitely a fan of the milder Halloween.

    • Hi Mae Clair,
      I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I, too, treasure the days of innocent fun and a healthy scare or two. Even the tricks were more fun and fearsome. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

