Autumn Thoughts by V L Locey

From Christina: I’ve been a fan of V L Locey ever since I first found her blog during a round of Tuesday’s Tales. She’s a little  bit quirky, more than a bit brilliant, and always entertaining. I’m glad she stopped by to share a few thoughts about autumn from her unique perspective.

Autumn Thoughts

by V L Locey

Hi, and thanks for stopping by! My name is V. L. Locey, and I’m a romance writer, wife, mom, keeper of goats and chickens and geese, spoiler of beagles and cats, Marvel comics geek, and New York Rangers fan.

Before we get to chatting and forget, let me say thank you to Christina for having me on today. I always enjoy talking about our little farm and the world that surrounds it. I was thrilled to be able to visit and chat about autumn. Fall is one of my two favorite seasons; the other is spring which gifts us with the results of fall as you’ll see in a wee bit. Living in the Laurel Highlands of Pennsylvania is a true blessing.

Flag

 As a writer I can simply stand outside and revel in the colors around me. I can step outside and enjoy the crimson, safflower, and sienna tones tumbling by on a crisp breeze. The aroma of white birch from our woodstove tickling my nose as a thousand brown pine needles fall to the carpet of spent  leaves from the oak, elm, and birch. And then I run inside to try to capture the smells, tastes, and sights.

Photo by V L Locey

Photo by V L Locey

Fall is special to us as goat-raisers because it`s in the fall that we begin breeding our dairy goats. We like to have our kids born in late March or early April. Since goats gestate for roughly five months, October is when the air is filled with romance.

For our breeding buck, Perseus, the wooing actually began in August. He started applying his manly goat cologne and started bulking up. And just so the ladies knew he was interested in some love, he began singing. And he has not stopped singing since!

Photo by V L Locey

Photo by V L Locey

The ladies begin to notice Perseus across the driveway in September. The shortening days seem to make his love songs that much sweeter. Sometimes the ladies even sing along. The hills truly are alive with the sound of music, it`s just caprine love songs being sung at three in the morning instead of Austrian melodies.

 

Our dairy goat’s bodies, much like the white-tailed deer’s, run with the rhythm of the earth. My chickens as well are influenced by the lack of sunlight. For a hen to lay her best, she needs fourteen to sixteen hours of light per day. From now until late spring, that doesn`t happen naturally. So I then get to play Mother Nature in a sense. I begin lighting my laying hens in the fall to try to keep the egg production up.

Photo by V L Locey

Photo by V L Locey

Photo by V L Locey

Photo by V L Locey

For we goatherders, fall isn’t a symbol of a long, cold, white winter. For while we’re shoveling and plowing and cussing the icy paths to barn and coop, our fall endeavors are slowly and tenderly growing. And what a wonderful blessing they are in the spring!

Photo by V L Locey

Photo by V L Locey

Yours in love and laughter,

V.L. Locey

Goatherder V L Locey loves to meet new friends and fans. You can find her on Facebook, follow her on Twitter, and visit her author page at Goodreads. Be sure to stop by her blog: Thoughts from a Yodeling Goatherder.

More on Goats!

5 thoughts on “Autumn Thoughts by V L Locey

  1. Great intro, Christina, I couldn’t describe Vicki better! 😉 Oddly enough, although autumn signals the beginning of winter depression, I absolutely love the colors. I love decorating with all the natural things–pumpkins, cornstalks, gourds, etc. And I love autumn clothes. Plaid makes me happy (except when worn by a certain hot goalie). Maybe because I went to Catholic school for twelve years and we wore uniforms and I adored school. But otherwise, I’m heartbroken over summer ending, as summer is when I truly feel alive! So, I get quite a mixed bag of emotions in September and October.

  2. What a delightful post! You described autumn in a way I’ve never read before. I definitely wouldn’t associate the cooler days with goat romance! Thank you for the best post I’ve read in a long time.

  3. Pingback: Finding the Light | Seasons of Love

Leave a Reply

