Halloween Memories by Charlene Roberts

From Christina: I didn’t have room to include Charlene’s entire title…LOL.  But I’ve listed it below…Mwahahahaha!!!

Halloween Memories – the SCARY ones! Mwahahaha!!

 by Charlene Roberts

Ahh, Halloween. One of my favourite times of the year. To be scared to death!

My friends think I’m nuts, and as such I have no one to keep me company for Halloween events. I enjoy them, but I’m not going by myself, are you kidding?

I have fond memories; does anyone remember a television show called “Night Stalker”? Man, that was the best scary show on TV. Honestly, I don’t know how I managed to sleep at night!

I also enjoy “Supernatural” – sure it helps that there are some cute guys on the show (hello, Sam!), but the earliest episodes were great. Hunting down the truth behind mythical and horror stories, and fighting ghosts. There was one episode with a scarecrow and sacrifices that still gives me the creeps!

So what is it about Halloween and its faithful following? All Hallows’ Eve represents the end of the harvest season and to stock up before winter sets in. it also involved lighting bonfires and rituals.

But I digress – I’m supposed to talk about why I love such a scary time of year! I think it has to do with adding a bit of scariness to an otherwise everyday life. And as October 31 represents the time when the door to the Underworld opened just enough to allow the spirits to roam the Earth, it adds another level of spookiness to an already spooky night.

So without further ado, some of my favourite Halloween memories!

 Haunted houses

Screemers in Toronto, Canada

Pic 1

This is one of the best haunted houses I’ve had the pleasure of screaming in. 6 spooky attractions, each one better than the last.

I went with a group of friends (3 girls, 4 guys)

I won’t tell you about all of them, but I’ll tell you the best:

1.   Corn field labyrinth – try running away from a psycho scarecrow!

2.   Medieval execution – warriors walk through the crowd, choosing those unlucky enough to go to the front to have their head chopped off. When the guillotine falls, the crowd is “splattered” with something, and it wasn’t water – I checked!

3.   Haunted house – we had to wait for awhile in line, but watching the girls run screaming out at the exit had my heart pumping before we went inside. There were closets with hands that reached out to grab you; a demon that followed you. A living room with a huge fireplace, and too quiet. The girls and I decided it was okay until the zombie got up from the top of the fireplace (we couldn’t see him as it was just high enough). The best was the huge room at the end. There was nothing in it except the demon, waiting for us. However he was the distraction from the cage buried in the floor filled with ghouls that shook the gate we stood on and grabbed your ankles. I have never ran so fast nor screamed so loud! But in the end, it was HUGE fun.

 Movies

I have always watched scary movies. Unfortunately, my friends think I’m crazy and won’t go with me, so I either have to find a guy friend or wait for the movie to debut on television. No way am I going to a theatre on my own!

Salem’s Lot

Picture 2

I’ve seen my share of vampire movies, but this one? It had everything;

David Soul (of the original Starsky & Hutch TV series) plays a writer who returns to his hometown to find that it is infested with vampires and with the help of several residents, systematically starts destroying them. The story sounds simple enough, but it is usually the simple things that have the greatest impact. The movie was based on Stephen King’s novel of the same name, the numero uno author of horror stories. With a dark, creepy atmosphere, mysterious disappearances, spooky music and actors who played great vampires, it had it all.

I was already creeped out when the little boy who got bitten was floating in front of his brother’s bedroom window.Picture 4

But when the face of the vampire finally “popped up” onto the large TV screen it scared me so badly that I hid in the bathroom and refused to come out.  The movie was made in the late 70’s, and to this day, I can still see that vampire’s face. Picture 3

Imagine this ugly mug magnified a few times and you’ll understand why I had nightmares!

An American Werewolf in London

Picture 5

Man, what on earth possessed me to go to the theatre to see this one? Oh yeah, my friend Faith. She is the one exception to my girlfriends, and enjoys horror movies more than me. This is a woman who watched Night of the Living Dead without flinching.

Two friends are on a backpacking holiday in England. After a tense meeting with village locals, the boys take off across the moors…at night. They’re attacked by a werewolf, which leaves one friend dead and the other in hospital, who finds out the hard way that he’ll change at the next full moon. Picture 6

The transformation scenes were awesome; I managed to watch some of it through my hands that covered my face. The ruthless attacks were terrifying, and my over-active imagination had me sleeping with the lights on for the next two nights.

Imagine looking over your shoulder and seeing this little lovely coming for you.

Picture 7

There have been remakes and a sequel, but they don’t equal to the original, if I say so myself.

Rocky Horror Picture ShowThe Rocky Horror Picture Show - Logo #2

And now for something completely different….

When I had first heard about this movie, I had no interest in it. I mean, come on; a musical horror movie?

But every year, my friends would get excited about this show to the point where I had to investigate; I mean my girlfriends watched this show and told me it wasn’t scary. What’s up with that?

Picture 9

So when it finally showed on TV during Halloween I checked it out. I have never laughed so hard! The Rocky Horror Picture Show, with its dance scenes, singing and the transsexual Dr. Frank N. Furter was beyond what I had initially thought. Picture 10

I haven’t been to a theatre when this airs every year in Toronto, but the “toast” scene (throwing pieces of toast at the screen) is supposed to be a scream! (Pardon the pun)

Books

I have to admit there not many books that scare me. The best horror stories I’ve enjoyed are Stephen King’s and I find his collection of short stories are more frightening than the full length novels. I think it has to do with the idea of using ordinary little towns as backdrops and offering a “taste” of what can happen.

Picture 11

The best one I’ve read was “Nightmares and Dreamscapes” – I don’t know what it was about that book (I think it was the vampire), but short stories give just enough of a taste of a story that allows me to use my imagination to think “what else could have happened?” And then I freak myself out! lol

And there you have it – some of my fondest Halloween memories. I’ve noticed that in terms of the scare factor, the more realistic it is, the scarier it is for me.

What’s your favourite Halloween memory?

Charlene’s latest release celebrates another holiday. Festive Persuasion, a sweet Regency romance,  is now available from Ellora’s Cave. 

4 thoughts on “Halloween Memories by Charlene Roberts

  1. I’ll have to watch the Rocky Horror Picture Show again after reading your post. You’ve reminded me how much fun it is. “Damn it, Janet!” And then, there’s my all-time favorite line. “Meatloaf? Again?” Thanks for sharing your scary memories!

    • Christina, I had a LOT of fun writing it!! It brought back some great memories. I’m going to have to hunt down some of those old shows on DVD and see if I have the courage to buy them! lol And Rocky Horror is just too much fun – I’m waiting for it to air on Halloween 🙂

  2. HI, Charlene! Very cool post. I remember the TV show Night Stalker. I used to love that. Also love Salem’s Lot (the original one you mentioned with David Soul). I’ve got that on DVD and love re-watching it.

    How about Night Gallery and the Sixth Sense? Those were great spooky shows too. As much as I love eerie TV, I shy away from touring haunting houses. Those are just a little too creepy for me, LOL!

    • Mae, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I loved Sixth Sense, but can’t remember Night Gallery, although it does ring a bell. And you have Salem’s Lot on DVD?? I have to hunt that down! lol

      I haven’t gone to a haunted house since that time; I’m afraid I’ll give myself a heart attack now *damn*, so it’s just the tv scares that I can do, or if I get the nerve up, see a movie in the theatre. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

