Giving Back: Reach Out and Read

Posted at TIME FOR LOVE and CHRISTINA COLE ROMANCE

A few months ago, I learned about “Reach Out and Read”, an organization promoting early childhood literacy. I knew at once that I wanted to support their work. The program works with doctors to “prescribe” books for parents and children. They encourage parents to read with their children.

REACH OUT AND READ

As an author, I know the power of words. Words bring knowledge, and reading brings joy, comfort, inspiration, and hope. Reading opens doors.

Please join me in support of Reach Out and Read. I have already pledged my monthly support, but in addition to my regular contribution, I will donate an additional dollar for each comment on this post.

I’m doing this because I want everyone to be aware of this organization and their efforts to encourage reading, and I want to call attention to the importance of early childhood literacy.

Many times I’ve told the story of my grandfather, a loving, patient man who had little formal education but who believed in and celebrated the power of words. He held me on my lap and read to me each day, pointing out each word and letting me “read” along with him.  He devoured books, magazines, and newspapers. My own voracious appetite for reading comes from him.

Too few children today receive the same loving support, the same encouragement to read, read, and read. Through supporting “Reach Out and Read”, I hope to give back in some small measure some of the joy I’ve been given through reading and writing.

I hope you’ll choose to join me in supporting Reach Out and Read. I’m not asking you to pledge money, although I hope you might choose to do that.

All I’m asking is that you show your support for early childhood literacy by leaving a comment on this post. Let me know that you’ve stopped by, that you’ve read about this program, and that you, too, believe it’s vital for children to have opportunities to read, to discover new books, to develop literacy skills.

Thank you.

Tips for Choosing Books for Children

NOTE: So far, readers from Christina Cole Romance and Time for Love have raised $35.00 from comments. Please, help me make this month’s donation go a long way toward helping.
3 thoughts on “Giving Back: Reach Out and Read

  1. What a lovely cause! In the library we saw so well how preschool reading and the summer reading program added value to children’s lives and helped them on the road to success. One of my Snickerdoodles is in 1st grade this year and reads a book every weekday, at his home the night before and again in the morning before I drive him to school. Right now we’re on the infamous Fly Guy books!

  2. I remember you blogging about this program before, Christina. It struck me as wonderful then and still does. My parents read to me from the time I was small, took me to the library every week when I was old enough, and willingly bought me paperbacks any time I came home with a flyer from a book drive at school and asked “can I get this one?” Both of them loved to read and my father dabbled with writing. As I got older, my mom and I were often reading the same book at the same time or passing them between us. I am so thankful they passed their love of reading and words onto me and that they took the time to nurture and encourage me in that respect. What a wonderful program you’re promoting!

  3. Thank you, Flossie, and thank you, Mae, for your comments. Early childhood literacy is so important! I’m grateful there are organizations like Reach Out and Read, and I’m glad that I can help in some small way. Your comments will each add $1.00 to my donation this month. 🙂

Leave a Reply

