My Winter Deuce by Decadent Kane

From Christina: I’ll have to admit, when I first received this “winter reflections” post from Decadent Kane, I was shaking my head a bit, trying to figure out exactly what a “winter deuce” might be. Read on for the answer! 

My Winter Deuce

by Decadent Kane

Winter sometimes has a way of surprising you. It sneaks up, soft, light, snowflakes edging ever closer to the ground and before you know it snow has enveloped the ground and trees casting a beautiful nature display in cool colors with a crisp air on the side.

I’m not a winter lady. I’m a summer. I love heat, the sun, swimming, not sliding down icy roads when I drive, and all the bright colors summer brings.

But winter brought me someone special. One of my fiance’s dogs had died- they were brothers, lived together their entire lives, and the one living became very depressed. He no longer had someone to be with; his brother was gone.

We went to the local kill shelter to see what might be available. Originally we were looking for a small dog. I’m not fond of dogs in general. They tend to scare me, and I was bitten in the face by one when I was 8. So I shy away from big dogs.

That’s when I saw him though…

Deuce
This chubby black puppy with white spots on his paws. He looked so little and forlorn with his baby brothers. I honestly fell in love with him. 

He wasn’t going to be released for a few days yet so everyone who was interested had to come back the day of release and it was a first come-first serve basis. I showed up early…I was waiting in the parking lot and then I got in line. There were quite a few waiting, not a ton, but several.

Once I got in they told us there were 3 puppies and so the first 3 people on the property got to go in…according to who came first. I ended up being second and when I walked back there those big brown eyes tore at me and my heart overfilled as I scooped up my little guy and set forth with him.

I named him Deuce.

And then I realized as I started looking up information on his breed that my little puppy wasn’t going to end up so little…

He’s a mastiff mutt mix.

Right now, almost 2 years later, if he stands up, he is taller than me. He walks at my hip height and weighs more than I do.

He’s my little lap dog. Maybe winter wasn’t directly the cause of me getting him, but he’s my winter Deuce either way…He adores the snow.

* * * *
Decadent Kane says that writing isn’t something she wants to do, it’s a need. Blank pages call to her — and drive her crazy.  In her words, she needs “to see words written down in my handwriting. I need to create characters, worlds, plots, ideas, dialogue.” The result of her creative madness can be found in her series, “The Trouble with Elves”, available at Amazon.

 

One thought on “My Winter Deuce by Decadent Kane

Leave a Reply

