Winter Thoughts

Most of the posts you’ll find at Time for Love are from guest authors, all of whom have become dear friends. I appreciate each author who has taken time from her busy schedule to share a few thoughts here.

From time to time I like to share a few words of my own, as well. With the romantic Valentine’s holiday past, and  February now winding down, I thought I’d pop in here for a moment.

Sun on PinkThe last few days have been a welcome break in the miserably cold winter we’ve had here in the midwest. Although thunderstorms struck yesterday afternoon and on through the night, the temperatures have been well above freezing — hitting as high as the 50’s and 60’s (Fahrenheit). So much better than the far-below-zero temperatures and wind chills we’ve experienced in recent weeks.

Weather forecasters are warning us that winter is not over yet, and I know more cold is coming. Probably more ice and snow, as well.

But I’m not going to think about the cold right now. I’m going to go right on thinking about those glorious rays of sunshine that brightened recent days.

The friendships I’ve made are rays of sunshine in my life, too. I love the warmth and comfort friends have offered, the bright, encouraging outlook my friends have given me, and the glowing words of kindness so many have shared.

In return, I want to once more say “Thank you” to my friends — authors and readers, alike. I’d like, too, to remind each one of you to cherish the friends in your lives.  Friends do warm the heart, just as sunshine warms even the coldest of winter days.

4 thoughts on “Winter Thoughts

  1. That’s so kind of you, Devika! I have truly enjoyed getting to know you…and the Sri Lankan recipes have been an added bonus! You will share a few of your favorites with readers at Time for Love, I hope. I know you’re busy, of course, so…at your convenience. I’ve enjoyed chatting with you about the different types of foods you eat…and learning about familiar foods with unusual names in Sri Lanka, such as the “lady’s fingers”. It wasn’t at all what I’d expected, as you know.

  2. What a beautiful post, Christina! I haven’t been as visible lately due to time constraints and, especially, my workload with the day job, but I’m hoping I can start popping in more frequently. I miss visiting your blog and interacting with the many guests you have. It’s been wonderful getting to know you the past year and I look forward to continuing that friendship. Thanks for brightening my day 🙂

    • I’ve been thinking of you, Mae, and was about to message you to check up. I know what a busy life you lead. Hearing from you has brightened my day…which is just what I need. Rain has started again, and it’s supposed to turn to snow. Did you hear my long sigh of frustration just then? I’m ready for spring. I know you’ve had your share of cold and snow, too. Stay warm; stay safe.

Leave a Reply

