SHOWCASE: Author Tea Cooper

I first became acquainted with Australian author Tea Cooper through one of the various Facebook groups to which I belong. I enjoyed Tea’s posts and quickly realized I’d found a fellow history-lover. I invited her to share a few thoughts about love and romance in February, and her Valentine’s post was thoroughly enjoyed by Time for Love’s readers.

 

Valentine’s Day Musings by Tea Cooper

I wanted to know more about Tea, her appreciation for the past, and about her books.

Today, I’m delighted to have Tea as my “Showcase” author for March.

 

From Tea:

Why do I write romance?

 I can’t help it … an over active imagination and the Greek Gods smiling at me!

I received a great review the other day for one of my books – any author’s life blood! The best part of the review though wasn’t the stars or the delightful comments about my plot and my story but the sentence that read:

You have such wonderful ideas for your books, wherever do you get them?”

 It got me thinking. I know I’m a visual learner – too many years trying to work out how children learn – then I realized I’m also a “visual writer.” I backtracked to see if it is true and where I got my inspiration.

 Inspiration means literally, to breathe in and be filled with spirit of the Gods, the muses of ancient Greece. I like to think the gods smile on me.

450px-StatueFaunePomp+¬i

 

It was certainly true of my little Greek novel A WINNING STREAK. It harks back to a trip to Pompeii more years ago than I am prepared to admit!

 

 

 

 

 

Then I took a closer look at my other books:

 

IMG_0520TREE CHANGE is about a woman who has to choose between her career (she’s a sculptor) and the love of her life, who is an environmentalist. The actual starting point for Cassia and Jake’s story was a sculpture I saw.

 

 

As I’ve become more aware of the way I write, (I’d like to say the way I capture my muse but it sounds dreadfully pretentious!) it became easier to spot the starting point of a story.

My family saga FROM THE OCEAN TO THE OUTBACK, which will be published at the end of the year, began with this necklace.

Republis of You

 

 

JAZZ BABY, the first of my 1920s stories to be published in October, began with a trip to a wine bar in Sydney right in the middle of the back streets where the Razor Gangs ruled between the two world wars.

photo 3

 

 

The well-known meme I came across while I was sitting in a café in the local town called The Queen of Tarts combined to set PASSIONFRUIT & POETRY in motion.

Passionfruit & Poetry small

 

(PS That’s my daughter!)

 

And MATILDA’S FREEDOM and LILY’S LEAP (releasing July 2014) belong to Wollombi, the village where I live, my historical muse, the local museum and the surrounding countryside … there’s a very old winding road built in 1826 that runs through Wollombi and nastiest bend is called Ramsey’s Leap  – rumor has it that a convict leapt over the side in an attempt to escape. As I stood gazing over the culvert I couldn’t help wondering what if ….

ramsays_leap

 

What a strange collection of snippets! If I haven’t bored you to death my Pinterest Boards tell more of the stories behind my stories. Drop by if you have some time to kill.

Tea’s Pinterest Boards

Where does your inspiration come from?

Do the ancient Gods smile on you?

* * * * * * * *

Many thanks to Tea for sharing her thoughts and inspirations! You can find here at her website: Tea Cooper Author. You can also follow her on Twitter @TeaCooper1

About Tea: Téa Cooper lives in a stone cottage on one hundred acres of bushland, in the Hunter Valley. When she isn’t writing, Téa can be found haunting the local museum or chatting to the locals, who provide her with a never-ending source of inspiration. The settings for her stories range from the glittering beachside city of Sydney to small country towns and the harsh outback. 

  WANT A CHANCE TO WIN?

There is a Giveaway currently running on Goodreads for a print copy of TREE CHANGE and THE PROTEA BOYS. You can find details on Tea’s page at Goodreads.

Tea Cooper Author – Goodreads

4 thoughts on “SHOWCASE: Author Tea Cooper

  1. Thanks for sharing these interesting bits of insight!
    You and me think alike. I find visual writing prompts the most powerful. Sometimes I see a nature scene or a piece of art or a building, and a story will pop up with a ping.
    That necklace looks gorgeous, by the way! And your next book sounds very promising. I’m a sucker for Outback stories. 🙂

  2. Firstly – thank you for inviting me back again, Christina! I love visiting your blog.
    Devika, I actually didn’t know I used visual prompts until I thought about it and wrote this blog. It came as a bit of a shock!! I so want that necklace!! It is still for sale …. I might just have to treat myself!

    • It’s a pleasure to have you as my “Showcase” author this month, Tea. I thoroughly enjoyed your post. It’s fascinating to see how other authors find ideas and inspirations. I love finding both similarities and differences in the way we each approach our writing. Your stories all sound fantastic. I’m looking forward to reading a few.

Leave a Reply

