Featured Title: Coming to Terms with Love

From Christina: It’s with great pleasure today that I share a few thoughts from author Dilys J. Carnie, whose title Coming to Terms with Love was voted as the “Readers’ Choice” winner last month. Please join with me in welcoming Dilys…and in learning more about her winning title.

Living the Dream

by Dilys J. Carnie

DACMy home is on the beautiful island of Anglesey on the west coast of North Wales with my family. I am extremely close to all my family members and enjoy spending time with them. I am the proud mother of two grown up children. My daughter, Emma, is a primary school teacher and my son, Christopher, is part of the family business. Anglesey has been my home since the age of eleven after moving here from Scotland with my mum and dad and three sisters.

As a young child I loved to write. I always carried a notebook and pen around with me and wrote about everything. It was a dream to become a published author. However sometimes in life our dreams get pushed to one side as mine did. So, dare I say at the young age of fifty plus I think it is time for me to see if those dreams are everything I hoped they would be…and hey, it’s never too late to go and grab that dream!

I have been through many major changes in my working life ranging from a Diana nurse, running my own skin care business, helping with the family run bus company and even hairdressing, but my heart as always belonged to putting words on paper and making them come to life.

Five years ago I managed to get in contact with my best friend from Scotland who I hadn’t seen for over forty years. She lives in America and every year without fail I make the trip over to North Carolina and visit with her and her gorgeous family. This is where I have gained a lot of inspiration for many of my stories especially The Fitzgerald Brothers in Chesapeake.

I am living my lifelong dream of becoming an author something which I never imagined happening. If I had to give any advice to an un-published author it would be ‘Never give up the dream’ because I never did.

COMING TO TERMS WITH LOVE

Coming to Terms with Love by Dilys J Carnie

Her past destroys her confidence for the future.
But when she meets the giant of a man Corey, her heart beats a little faster. Then the doubt sets in and she refuses to acknowledge any kind of chemistry. No man would look at her, and she had a son…a son that she was fighting to keep.

He tries to fight what he feels, but he has serious doubts at his resistance.
Corey finds a part of him he didn’t know existed and can’t help falling in deeper than he ever thought possible. Trying to come to terms with his feelings brings him a peace of mind that was totally unexpected. And when an old enemy of Beth’s turns up on the doorstep he steps forward to put an end to her past. Will this be the beginning to their future together?

Excerpt 1

The air was like a magnetic field, as if sparks were pinging around them in the air. She watched as he controlled himself, she admired the way he had not argued with her. Her own heart hammered against her ribs, it had been so close…so very close she couldn’t imagine the horror that would have been on his face if he had moved his hand any closer.

Beth tried to catch her own breath as she watched him in the moonlight. It seemed that every nerve ending in her body was tingling in a way she had never experienced before.

“I should apologize…only I’m not sorry,” he whispered in between the harshness of his breathing.

He looked at her and she trembled all over again. “Apologize for what? It was just a kiss.”

He stood straight moving closer to her making her take a step back.

“Just a kiss?”

“I…well a good kiss,” she stammered.

He laughed out loud. “Good? Be serious, Beth, you felt that as much as I did.” He took a step closer tilting her chin with his fingers. His gaze penetrated hers and she shook her head dislodging his fingers, taking a step back.

“Okay it was sensational…you’re a good kisser. So what? Plenty of men are.”

He sucked in a breath before he spoke.

“I touched you and the searing heat from you set me on fire, when we kissed your tongue wrapped itself round me so hard that I became part of you. The air around us is so charged that if someone dropped a match, it would explode.”

They were words she didn’t want to hear, she didn’t need him to tell her how it was for God’s sake she knew but…but there was no way in hell that she was ready for this. How could she expect someone else to accept her body when she was still coming to terms with it herself. The verve of the last few minutes started to leave her body and the realization of what had happened took over.

“Beth—”

She knew he was waiting for her to say something; she wanted to try and be as honest as she could.

“You’re right, we did…connect but it can’t go any further than this…I don’t want it.”

“Baloney.” He pushed his hands into his pockets scowling at her. “The minute we set eyes on each other we knew what it would be like once we touched, why the hell did you think that I left so quickly the other day?”

Excerpt 2

“Why is she staying in the cabin? Has she bought it?”

“Yes she bought it about three months ago.”

“Strange that a single woman would hide herself in the depths of a mountain with several feet of snow outside her door.”

“You mean as strange as a single guy who’s been hiding for three months up there?”

He glowered at his brother. “That’s different, I’m recovering.”

“Whatever, brother, but she just might be doing the same thing.”

“What do you mean?” His voice lowered.

“You do know, Corey, she has been—”

He turned completely round to face Gabe. “What?”

“Nothing. Eva would kill me and besides it’s not up to me to say anything.”

“Gabe, you can’t stop there, what?”

“Ah look there’s Eva on her way over. Sorry, bud, I’m afraid I’m going to have to go and sweep her of her feet dancing the night away.”

“Gabe, don’t you dare walk away from me.” His eldest brother just laughed and turned away, sweeping his wife up into his arms. Damn if they didn’t look perfect together.

What the hell had Gabe been about to say?

Corey couldn’t pull his gaze away from Beth, there was something about her that drove his libido into a mind of its own…she was sexy but she was trying to hide it and now when he looked at her, really looked at her, he could see that she held herself away and although the dance was sensual she was aloof with her body but she was laughing.

He glanced back at his brother dancing with Eva, and Gabe mouthed “ask her to dance” pointing with a nod of his head at Beth. Corey started to feel uncomfortable and tugged at his ear. He wanted to punch his brother who was smirking from a distance. He looked across the room where Beth was sitting down with a champagne glass in her hand.

“Well, hell,” he muttered under his breath but couldn’t stop his feet from putting one in front of the other. It was as if she could sense his approach and she turned her head to watch him. Her dark green eyes were bright, he almost tripped over his heart beat. Her soft pink lips parted as her cheeks suffused with color.

She looked around her; he knew she was hoping to escape. Corey came to a stop directly behind her and he could sense she knew he was there because her shoulders stiffened.

She looked up at Micah asking him if he would like to dance again, her voice held a pleading tone, he glowered at his friend narrowing his eyes, warning him that it would not be in his best interests to take her up on that offer. Micah understood as Corey knew he would, his friend put his hand up, grinned back and waved his arm in front of him for Corey to go forward. Corey fashioned a grin on his face before turning back to the woman sitting in the chair.

“I believe, Beth Giles, you owe me a dance and an explanation.”

“I don’t think so,” she replied. Her back was straight, her face taut as she reached for Micah’s hand.

Corey moved round the chair like a flash taking hold of her fingers in his own before she could grasp onto Micah. His friend grinned unashamedly at Corey. He was one of the few men he knew apart from his brothers who was not intimidated by his stare.

 

Want to win a copy of Coming to Terms with Love?

Leave a comment on this post

and you’ll be entered for a chance to win an ebook copy

from the author.

Contest will close Monday, April 21, at 9:00 AM

 

4 thoughts on “Featured Title: Coming to Terms with Love

Leave a Reply

