Memories on Mother’s Day by V L Locey

From Christina: I am delighted to share a few thoughts from Vickie Locey, one of my favorite goat-herders and authors. OK, so she’s the only goat-herder I know. Let’s not get picky. She’s here today to share a few special memories. Enjoy!

Memories on Mother’s Day

by V. L. Locey

Hi everyone! My name is V.L. Locey, and I’m an erotic romance author. I’d like to thank Christina for allowing me come visit today. You know, sometimes it is the simplest of occurrences that sets off a memory. It seems of late that quite a few things around my house are doing that, and I don`t mind one bit.

The first touch of a remembrance of my mother came when my dad brought me a hyacinth for Easter. Dad loves to gift the ladies in his life with flowers, and since my mom passed over ten years ago, that leaves me as the sole floral recipient. I love getting flowers so both of us are happy when he arrives with a pot of posies in hand.

Hyacinth
Any time I smell hyacinth it takes me back to working in the flower garden with my mother. She loved hyacinth, and her beds were packed with the fragrant bulbs. She put as many as she could in any bed. Under the living room window was her favorite, for when a warm spring wind would blow up, and the window was cracked to let the stale winter air out, the breeze would carry the smell of hyacinth into the room.

I`m trying to keep the beautiful white plant alive as long as I can. It’s now fully open, and my entire kitchen is heady with scent. No artificial air freshener can top it. I can inhale that wonderful fragrance as I write, and be taken back to the springs of yesteryear with just a whiff.

The other tip off to a memory of mom was during a discussion of movies. Sports movies to be precise. The film Brian’s Song was mentioned. I`m not sure if any of you have seen it, but if not, I`ll just say that it`s a tearjerker of a film about two best friends on the same football team. As soon as the movie was mentioned, I was whisked back to when I first saw the film. It was released in 1971, so it probably took a few years to get to television. Maybe I was sixteen at the most.

Anyway, there my mother and I sat, side by side, weeping like a couple of speckled trout over this movie when my father walked in. Of course, he simply could not understand why we were subjecting ourselves to such emotional upheaval. We flat out refused to change the channel or let him do so. So there we sat, crying amid hiccup fits, until the ending credits rolled.

Those are the memories that mean the most to me. The unplanned ones. Those are the ones I plan to revisit on Mother`s Day and every other day throughout the year.

What are your favorite memories from childhood? Are they tied in with smell, taste, or touch? I`d love to hear about them!

* * *

LoceyV.L. Locey loves worn jeans, belly laughs, anything romantic, Greek mythology, comic books, Rangers hockey, and coffee (Not necessarily in that order). She shares her life with her husband, her daughter, one dog, two cats, a steer named after a famous NHL goalie, and a flock of assorted domestic fowl.

She is a self-published and conventionally published author. She is a proud Torquere Press and Secret Cravings Publishing author. When not writing erotic  romance tales, she can be found enjoying her day with her menagerie in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania with a cup of fresh java in hand. She can also be found online on Facebook, Twitter, and GoodReads.

 

A Note from Christina

Vickie  recently contributed a story to  Seduced by the Gamethe 2014 Cancer Charity Anthology. Like so many others, my family has known the devastation of this disease. My maternal grandmother, my mother, a maternal aunt, and my dear younger sister were all taken by cancer.

Please help in the fight to find a cure! You can purchase the book through Amazon or other online booksellers.

SEDUCED BY THE GAME

 

2 thoughts on “Memories on Mother’s Day by V L Locey

    • Happy mother’s day to you, as well. I hope you have a most enjoyable day. I’m doing a bit of writing this morning, and then I’ll log off and enjoy a little family time. Best wishes to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

