Summertime by Vicki Batman

From Christina: I’m pleased to have Vicki Batman here today to share a few thoughts about summertime.  It’s always a pleasure to visit with her.

 

Summertime

by Vicki Batman

Summertime–fun days!

When my kids began school, I would count the days like this:

  • Labor Day
  • Halloween
  • Thanksgiving
  • Holiday break
  • Presidents Day
  • Valentine’s Day
  • Spring Break
  • School is out.

Then…

Summer Pic

 

As a little girl, my family went on some great vacations–Gulf of Mexico and Galveston Island, Florida, California. And I wanted those experiences for my children, too. Trips to visit family members, Washington D.C., New York City, and Colorado.

Sometimes, we moms don’t know what things we’ve taught our kids will stick. I took mine to the art museums. I loved going and only had a one opportunity when I was a child. I determined that wouldn’t happen to mine.

Statue of LibertySo we were on vacation in New York City. We’d planned age appropriate Broadway shows, a trip to the Statue of Liberty, and Ellis Island, the exhibition Art of the Motorcycle at the Guggenheim.

But I had to go to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and if I really wanted to go, I had to take the boys. I’d mapped out that visit so they wouldn’t be bored. First, the arms and Armaments; then, the Egyptian stuff; finally, we passed though to another area and skimmed by the Impressionist exhibit.

Money PicThat’s when I heard, “Look, Mom, a…”

 

 

 

I had to stop and take that in. Wow, they remembered.

Time marches on. The kids are grown, and we don’t have the same kind of vacations. Whenever I’m vacationing in NYC, I go to the Met by myself, pass through the Impressionists and think, “Look, Mom, a Monet.”

Maybe I’ve done my mom job well.

 

About Vicki:

Vicki BatmanLike some of her characters, award-winning author, Vicki Batman has worked a wide variety of jobs including lifeguard, ride attendant at an amusement park; a hardware store, department store, book store, antique store clerk; administrative assistant in an international real estate firm; and a general “do anything gal” at a financial services firm–the list is endless.

 Writing for several years, she has completed three manuscripts, written essays, and sold many short stories to TRUE LOVE, TRUE ROMANCE, TRUE CONFESSIONS, NOBLE ROMANCE PUBLISHING, LONG AND SHORT REVIEWS, MUSEITUP PUBLISHING, and THE WILD ROSE PRESS.

She is a member of RWA and several writing groups and chapters. In 2004, she joined DARA and has served in many capacities, including 2009 President. DARA awarded her the Robin Teer Memorial Service Award in 2010.

 Most days begin with her hands set to the keyboard and thinking “What if??”

 

20 thoughts on “Summertime by Vicki Batman

  1. Oh, I LOVE this post! “Look, Mom, a Monet,” made me cry a little. So sweet! I’m in love with the impressionists too, so this was a very dear post for me who also is raising a son.

  2. It is amazing what we teach our children. It sounds like you had some wonderful trips with your children. I was hoping to do a return trip to my children’s favorite vacation spot this year, a sort of trip down memory lane but they were busy. 😦

    • Hi, Melissa! And the things they remember. #1 said I scared the crap outta him when I showed him my headgear after wearing braces for the first time as an adult. LOLOL

  3. You devil, Vicki … yes the Met is an international treasure and a joy to visit. Coming on the heals of my summertime trio, I am delighted to know more about what you did as a kid, what you did with your kids, and that you love my city as much as I do. Wonderful posts come from wonderful memories. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Hi, Florence: I didn’t get to go to NYC as a kid because it cost so much. When Handsome had a trip there, I couldn’t wait to tag along. Every time I go to NYC, I spend a day there by myself as a gift to me. Next time, I’m calling you for my special tour guide. LOL

    • Hi, Ally! and thank you so much for visiting with me today. I dragged mine to many different exhibits throughout their growing up years. That was the first time a payoff came! Have a great day and a good visit.

    • Hi, Wendy! They don’t mind so much now, but they are rather big. I tried to talk about the paintings with them and get them to answer questions. The La Tour exhibit was one of their favorite because he could use a candle and luminate a room–magical. Thanks for stopping.

  4. When I was a little girl, every Christmas season my sister and I would pick a day and my mom would take us to Lit Brothers’ Enchanted Village, Wanamaker’s Light Show, and the many cultural institutions that my hometown, Philly, has to offer. She also take us to lunch at a fancy restaurant. It was a great day! Thanks for the post, Vicki!

    • How wonderful, Angela! Sometimes as a birthday or Christmas gift, my kiddoes have given me a day with them at a museum and that is priceless. Hugs, girl.

  5. Great story, Vicki. I had a lot of outings with my nephews when they were young. It’s so touching when they remember fondly.
    Janice

    • Hi, Janice! And thank you so much. The real story is we don’t always know what we say or do will impact anyone. Thankfully, this was a good one. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

